Mixtape Monday #3

Hello Human Being.

This is my third entry for Mixtape Mondays.


Today I want to show my appreciation for Tori Amos. I remember the first time I heard Tori’s Little Earthquakes. It brought tears to my eyes. I had the same reaction when listening to Boys for Pele shortly after. The beauty and passion and authenticity of this songstress was more than I could fathom. I had been searching for her. I knew she was out there, this woman whose words resonated so deeply with my own soul.

tori-amos-001

And on top of that she can play two pianos at the same time, ya’ll. Who does that? She is a force.

I have known many Tori fans over the years, and many of them have fallen to the wayside. They argue that her more recent albums are a departure from her old work; that she has become “too weird”.

I’ve remained loyal, having read her autobiography “Piece by Piece” I feel like I get her. I understand her process. I am wide open to receive the genius that she creates, no matter how different it may sound in relation to her more popular work. And I’ve found that as a woman, specifically a woman who has been navigating Saturn Return, her progression has fit with my own. I still get her and she still gets me.

So today I’ve selected two songs from her more recent works, songs that haven’t gotten as much praise as they should; songs that sit with my soul every time I return to them. I’ve also selected one old, but grand song. One that I revisit constantly. And of course, I’ve enclosed some accompanying lyrics. The first of these is a track called, “Taxi Ride” from her album Scarlet’s Walk (released in 2002).

“We’ve all been pushed
Too far today
Even a glamorous
Bitch can be in
need
this is where you know
the Honey
from the
Killer Bees”

This song is helping me through now as it has helped me in the past. It is a tribute to those who are on my side, that have shown me support through my struggles, and who have not backed down from the challenge of defeating the dark spaces in my heart. I am a girl who likes to present a false face. I don’t always let on when I’m in need; I like to present a strong front. Those I’ve known the longest see right through it. Unfortunately some exploit it, while others help me through. Those who are there for me (my “honey”) make up for those that kick me when I’m down (my personal “killer bees”).  This song is my dedication to them.

Taxi Ride

Lily is dancing 
on the table 
We’ve all been 
Pushed 
Too far 
I guess on days 
like this 
you know who your 
friends are 
Just another Dead Fag 
to you that’s all 
Just another Light missing 
on a long taxi ride 
taxi ride 

And I’m down to 
Your last cigarette and 
this “We are one” crap 
as you’re invading 
This thing you call 
Love – she smiles 
way too much but 
I’m glad you’re 
on my side, sure 
I’m glad you’re on 
my side still 

You think you deserve 
a trust fund 
Just because you 
Want one 
Sure you talk the talk 
when you need to 
I fear 
the whole world is 
starting to 
Believe you 
Just another Dead Fag 
to you that’s all 
Just another Light missing 
in a long taxi line 
taxi line 

And I”m down to 
Your last cigarette and 
this “We are one” crap 
as you’re invading 
This thing you call 
Love – she smiles 
way too much but 
I’m glad you’re 
on my side, sure 
I’m glad you’re on 
my side still 

Lily is dancing 
on the 
table 
We’ve all been pushed 
Too far today 
Even a glamorous 
Bitch can be in 
need 
this is where you know 
the Honey 
from the 
Killer Bees 
I’m glad you’re on 
my side 
sure 
I’m glad you’re on 
my side 
sure 
I’m glad you’re on 
my side still 

Got a long taxi ride 
Got a long taxi ride


The second song I want to share is from her release American Doll Posse (released in 2007). The song is entitled “Big Wheel”, a song of empowerment. This song helps me stand on my own two feet. It reminds me of my Southern roots, the strong women who’ve come before me, and my ability to live for myself. Sometimes I need to be reminded that I am strong, self-sufficient, and need no one’s permission to be me. In lieu of my most recent struggles this song is helping me to wash it away and start anew.

Big Wheel

I’ve been on the other side
Got my lips smacked now they’re dry
Then you call me call me in
You think I am your possession
You’re
Messing with a southern girl
But my recipe is on
With your
Stale bread yeah it’s hot
But baby I don’t need your cash

So baby maybe I let your

Big Wheel turn my
Fantasy
Don’t you throw that shade on me
I’ve been drinkin’ down your pain
Gonna turn that whiskey into rain and
Wash it away
Wash it away
Wash it away boy
Let’s go

I’ve been on my knees
But you’re so hard
Hard to please
Did you take me take me in
So you are a superstar
Get off the cross we need the wood

Somehow you will rise
But without a tool
I know honey you’re a pro
But baby I don’t need your cash

Mama got it all in hand now
Big Wheel turn my
Fantasy
Don’t you throw that shade on me
I’ve been drinkin’ down your pain
Gonna turn that whiskey into rain and

Wash it away
Wash it away
Wash it away boy

Gimme 8
Gimme 7
Gimme 6
Gimme 5 Gimme 4 Gimme 3

I. I. I am a M-I-L-F don’ you forget
M-I-L-F don’ you forget
M-I-L-F don’ you forget

Baby I don’t need your cash
So BABY maybe I let your 
Big Wheel turn my
Fantasy
Don’t you throw that shade on me
I’ve been drinkin’ down your pain
Gonna turn that whiskey love into rain
Gonna turn your whiskey boy into rain and
Wash it away
Wash you away boy
Wash you down
Big Wheel


The last song I want to share is a throwback to Tori’s roots, a track from her second album Under the Pink (released in 1994). The song is entitled, “Cornflake Girl”. To me it is a nod to authenticity. It is a nod to being who you are and subjugating the surreal experience of false friendships and social roles. Be who you are, all else is a waste of time and self. The song is about betrayals between women and how hanging with the wrong people will open you up to those betrayals. This is a pervading theme in her music. The struggle to fight social norms is very real and she reminds me that I am the only one who can fully realize my unique traits, gifts, feelings, and talents. I am a raisin girl, and not everyone will subscribe to my way of thinking. It’s easier to be a Cornflake Girl.

Cornflake Girl

Never was a cornflake girl
Thought that was a good solution
Hanging with the raisin girls
She’s gone to the other side
Givin us a yo heave ho
Things are getting kind of gross
And I go at sleepy time
This is not really happening
You bet your life it is

Peel out the watchword
Just peel out the watchword

She knows what’s goin on
Seems we got a cheaper feel now
All the sweetcaze are gone
Gone to the other side
With my encyclopedia
They musta paid her a nice price
She’s putting on her string bean love
This is not really happening
You bet your life it is

Peal our the watchword
Just peel out the watchword

Never was a cornflake girl
Thought that was a good solution

Rabbit where’d you put the keys girl
And the man with the golden gun thinks he knows so much
Thinks he knows so much
Rabbit where’d you put the keys girl

tori-amos-002

May 13th she will release her next album, Unrepentant Geraldines, and I cannot wait to see what is in store.

Leave a Reply

