Mixtape Monday #5

Hello Human Being.

It’s Mixtape Monday!


I don’t have a lot to say today. I’ve been thinking about my best friend Dave a lot. He’s in Atlanta and I miss him terribly sometimes. We send each other mix cds periodically as a means to stay in touch. This is a band that I discovered through my friend. He listens to a lot of “house” and “club” music, but overall, his taste is a lot like mine and there is this broad meridian where our tastes intersect beautifully. The Junior Boys fall into this area.

juniorboys

This track is called “Teach Me How to Fight” from their album Last Exit (released in 2004).

I don’t really pull any special meaning from this song, because I’ve never really thought about it in that way. It’s just a really great track. I also realize I haven’t written the entry I alluded to in my previous entry. I’ve been thinking a lot about what I want to say exactly, so it should be up in the next couple of days. In the meantime, enjoy this song. It really is a good one.

Teach Me How To Fight

There’s some things I forget
And if it’s wrong, I keep it in check
‘Cause what could I do
If we go out tonight
With that blood on your shirt?
Would it taste like a brand new shirt?
‘Cause I don’t knowCan you teach me how to fight?
Show me what it’s like to give that pain
Show me how to fight, throw him down

There were times in the past
If I had the move, I couldn’t make it last
Girl, it’s wasted in the night
And is it really so hard?
Tell your body to forget the words
Pushing you too hard
‘Cause I don’t know

Can you teach me how to fight?
Show me what it’s like to give that pain
Show me how to fight, throw him down

 

Leave a Reply

